Archive 2015-2016 The Final Results
Winton Logo


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional


Valid CSS!

The Final Results
Written by Brian Stephenson   

Click to see Results Table.

The second row of the above table lists the problems in the six rounds and the third row gives the maximum points available for each problem and the maximum time allowed for each round in a column headed ‘Time’. Each row gives the points scored by each competitor for each problem and also the time taken for each round. The placement of competitors is calculated by points scored, with ties being resolved by time taken.

Except for ex-champions John Nunn, David Friedgood, Jonathan Mestel, Michael McDowell and Colin McNab, finalists not in italics have qualified for the Closed championship through the tough postal round. The Open section was made up of solvers (indicated by italics) who hadn't qualified for the final or who were foreign visitors.

Prizes awarded were as follows:-

Closed Championship

  • 1st Prize – John Nunn
  • 2nd Prize – Jonathan Mestel
  • 3rd Prize – Colin McNab
  • 4th Prize – David Friedgood
  • 5th Prize – Dafydd Johnston
  • Prize for highest placed finalist rated under 2100 – Les Blackstock

Open Championship

  • 1st Prize – Eddy van Beers (BEL)
  • 2nd Prize – Piotr Murdzia (POL)
  • 3rd Prize – Dolf Wissmann (NED)
  • 4th Prize – Marek Kolcak (SVK)

In addition, three specially invited juniors – Theodore Diaz, Daniel Southern and Jia Feng – were all awarded small prizes.

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack