Archive 2010-2011 The Final Results
Winton Logo


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional


Valid CSS!

The Final Results
Written by Brian Stephenson   

Click to see Results Table.

The second row of the above table lists the problems in the six rounds and the third row gives the maximum points available for each problem and the maximum time allowed for each round in a column headed ‘Time’. Each row gives the points scored by each competitor for each problem and also the time taken for each round. The placement of competitors is calculated by points scored, with ties being resolved by time taken.

Except for ex-champions John Nunn, David Friedgood, Jonathan Mestel and Michael McDowell, finalists not in italics have qualified for the Closed championship through the tough postal round. The Open section was made up of solvers (indicated by italics) who hadn't qualified for the final or who were foreign visitors.

Prizes awarded were as follows:-

  • 1st Prize and a guaranteed place in the 2011 British Solving Team for the World Championship – John Nunn
  • 2nd Prize – Eddy van Beers (BEL)
  • 3rd Prize – Michael McDowell
  • 4th Prize – Jonathan Mestel
  • 5th Prize – Colin McNab
  • 6th Prize – Dolf Wissmann (NED)
  • 7th Prize – Ian Watson
  • Rating Prize (< 2300) – Roddy McKay
  • Prize for highest placed non-seeded competitor – John Gemmell
  • Prize for second highest placed non-seeded competitor - Andrew Bamford
  • Prize for highest placed first-time finalist – Gerald Griggs
  • Prize for second-highest placed first-time finalist – Stephen Thompson
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack