Archive 2002-2003 The Final Results
Winton Logo


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional


Valid CSS!

The Final Results
Written by Brian Stephenson   

Click to see results table.

The first row in the above table lists the six rounds and the second row gives the maximum points available for each round and the maximum time allowed for each round in a column headed ‘Time’. Each row gives the points scored by each competitor for each round and also the time taken. The placement of competitors is calculated by points scored, with ties being resolved by time taken. The ‘Periodical’ column contains the name of the periodical in which the competitor saw the starter problem. If this column contains ‘seeded’ then the competitor was seeded into the postal round. Seeded competitors are those who have won a 1st, 2nd or 3rd prize in a previous final. All finalists, except the defending champion, have qualified for the final through the tough postal round. Solvers marked ‘casual’ were solvers who hadn't qualified for the final and were not eligible for the general prizes.

Prizes awarded were as follows:-

  • 1st Prize and a guaranteed place in the 2003 British Solving Team for the World Championship in Moscow – Jonathan Mestel.
  • 2nd PrizeMichael McDowell.
  • 3rd PrizeIan Watson.
  • Prize for highest placed non-seeded competitor – Les Blackstock.
  • Prize for highest placed first-time finalist – Peter C Clarke.
  • Prize for the winner of the Casual section – Graham Lee
  • 1st Prize for the editor attracting most entries – Ray Keene of The Times.
  • 2nd Prize for the editor attracting most entries – Malcolm Pein of The Daily Telegraph.
  • 3rd Prize for the editor attracting most entries – Leonard Barden of The Guardian.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 March 2016 09:58
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack