Archive 2000-2001 The Final Results
Winton Logo


Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional


Valid CSS!

The Final Results
Written by Brian Stephenson   

Click to see Results Table.

The first row of the above table lists the problems in the five rounds and the second row gives the maximum points available for each problem and the maximum time allowed for each round in a column headed ‘T’. Each row gives the points scored by each competitor for each problem and also the time taken for each round. The placement of competitors is calculated by points scored, with ties being resolved by time taken. The ‘Periodical’ column contains the name of the periodical in which the competitor saw the starter problem. If this column contains ‘seed’ then the competitor was seeded into the postal round. Seeded competitors are those who have won a 1st, 2nd or 3rd prize in a previous final. All finalists, except the defending champion, have qualified for the final through the tough postal round. The Casual section was made up of solvers who hadn't qualified for the final.

Prizes awarded were as follows:-

  • 1st Prize and a guaranteed place in the 2001 British Solving Team for the World Championship in Wageningen – Jonathan Mestel.
  • 2nd PrizeColin McNab.
  • 3rd PrizeMichael McDowell.
  • Prize for highest placed non-seeded competitor – Stephen Taylor.
  • Prize for highest placed first-time finalist – Bill Clark.
  • Prize for the winner of the Casual section – John Coward
  • 1st Prize for the editor attracting most entries – Malcolm Pein of The Daily Telegraph.
  • 2nd Prize for the editor attracting most entries – Ray Keene of The Times.
  • 3rd Prize for the editor attracting most entries – Leonard Barden of The Guardian.
  • 1st Prize for the editor attracting the entry of the highest placed non-seeded competitor – Gavin Saxton of Scottish Chess for the performance of Colin McNab.
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack